Damn you, thieves!
- February 29th, 2008
- Posted in Ubuntu
- By
- Write comment
As Mackenzie wrote in her article, there are some thieves out there who are stealing our articles and earning money via Google adsense advertising with content which are not theirs.
Yesterday I wrote an article about one MySQL query, coming from MySQLPerformanceBlog.
As I don’t send trackbacks right now, I was wondering, who send the trackback to the performance blog.
On http://www.linuxindex.com/2008/02/28/stephan-hermann-how-to-determine-the-largest-table-in-your-mysql-database/ I found the thieve.
I followed the trace, and found that there is no imprint for this site. I queried the whois database of Internic and read that the domain was registered through godaddy.com.
The public available whois data is here:
Registrant: none 248 H street hamilton, Ohio 45013 United States Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com) Domain Name: LINUXINDEX.COM Created on: 09-Aug-07 Expires on: 09-Aug-08 Last Updated on: 09-Aug-07 Administrative Contact: baumgartner, david david@deviantmedia.net none 248 H street hamilton, Ohio 45013 United States 5138859988 Fax -- Technical Contact: baumgartner, david david@deviantmedia.net none 248 H street hamilton, Ohio 45013 United States 5138859988 Fax -- Domain servers in listed order: NS1.DREAMHOST.COM NS2.DREAMHOST.COM
Well, it’s time to find a good license for my blog.
So, when I read the whois entry correctly, the thieve is named David Baumgartner.
As from now on, the www.linuxindex.com (IP: 208.113.174.28) will be blocked from my server ip-wise.
I would like to see IP blockings or other security mechanisms on planet.ubuntu.com, too.

He’s pulling from Planet Ubuntu, so there’s no direct access to your RSS feed.
Well,
it doesn’t matter..this site will be blocked…and we should find a way to prevent those sites from grabbing p.u.c.
Yep, some of my postings also happen to be on this “linux index”.
I have also had posts mirrored there. At least this site has sent my site pingbacks / links, which is helpful. But yes, blocking the IP will do nothing while they’re accessing p.u.c.
But it does have your picture, so I don’t think that your work is being claimed as his own.
In fact I’d say it’s a good thing that your work is getting distributed and read by more :S. Your stuff though, you decide.
Yes, it has my picture, which is taken from p.u.c.
The problem with all this:
1. The blog of him is sending out trackbacks/pingbacks in the websites name (not my site, but his), this is wrong, and I didn’t send trackbacks from my Blog…so this guy should respect this.
2. Seeing, that he doesn’t bother to have an imprint, and all the banners and adverts on his page, I think he wants to earn money with content from another site. Which is wrong and in some cases against the policy and license of the writers.
I don’t care if my articles or any other articles from other writers are published on other websites, but
a) no adverts
b) no making money with foreign content
c) attribution is something different as what he is doing.
In my case it was someone I had allowed to manage and build my blog. I sent him my own posts, but he also used posts from others. I would not have found out unless someone told me (and then I also caught it in action). Not good.
In my opinion, we should all be very careful who has access and to do what. I learned by placing trust in the wrong individual. (I’ve a couple posts of the story on my site). I’m thankful that the “community” communicates well. :)
Note: And I’m still fixing posts in my blog because of this!
Follow-up… I found out that an internal circuit city forum (for their personnel only) appeared to be hotlinking to me. I googled and found a solution I think we can all adapt to our needs: http://ubuntulinuxhelp.com/hot-linkers-are-bandwidth-thieves/
If they’re using adsense then you can report them to Google.
https://www.google.com/adsense/support/bin/answer.py?answer=18386